The SLC Music Library welcomes you to another streaming audio database – American Song.
American Song is a history database that allows people to hear and feel the music from America’s past. The database includes songs by and about:
American Indians
Miners
Immigrants
Slaves
Children
Pioneers
and Cowboys
Included in the database are the songs of:
Civil Rights
Political campaigns
Prohibition
The Revolutionary War
The Civil War
Anti-war protests [...]
Read Full Post »
Have you checked out Smithsonian Global Sound?
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries, produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, is a virtual encyclopedia of the world’s musical and aural traditions. The collection provides educators, students, and interested listeners with an unprecedented variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms.
It [...]
Read Full Post »
Looking for classical music? Here is a database for your listening pleasure!
Classical Music Library is a fully searchable classical music resource of classical recordings. The music moves from Medieval to contemporary, from choral works to symphonies, operas, and the avant-garde. There are multiple versions of works to enable comparative. Online reference works such as Grove’s [...]
Read Full Post »
Did you know that Sarah Lawrence now subscribes to an online Jazz database?
The most comprehensive jazz listening collection available online, Jazz Music Library will include thousands of tracks performed by extraordinary artists including:
Benny Carter
Bill Evans
Cannonball Adderley
Charlie Byrd
Charlie Parker
Count Basie
Dave Brubeck
Dizzie Gillespie
Ella Fitzgerald
John Coltrane
Miles Davis
[...]
Read Full Post »
Posted in Access, tagged 24 hours, 360 Link, Academic computing, Ask A Librarian, book recalls, book swap, circulation policies, Citation Station, classification scheme, construction, consultations, Contemporary Authors, Databases, e-reserves, end of semester, environment, forms, Google Scholar, Granger's, ILL, indexes, interlibrary loan, interlibrary loan forms, library events, Library hours, myslc, poetry, reading room, recalls, reference staff, RefWorks, research consultations, reserves access, ScienceDirect, spring break, survey, symposium, temperature, workshops, WorldCat on October 15, 2009 | Leave a Comment »
We are always looking for the next great idea and we think you have it!
A Suggestion Box has been installed in the library and now the only thing it needs is your ideas.
Where?
Look to your right when you walk in. It is mounted on the wall next to the New Books Board.
Read Full Post »
As we sprint toward the end of the semester, things can get a little crazy. No one likes doing a bibliography after working for weeks and days and hours on a paper – and the process is even harder if you can’t remember where you found that brilliant quote that really ties together your essay…
RefWorks [...]
Read Full Post »
Recently some students have asked the library why they have to pay for articles in ScienceDirect. The answer is that you don’t!
The library has 4 years of full-text access in ScienceDirect. If you click on the “Full-text PDF” link and find a page asking you to log in, we don’t have the full-text access to [...]
Read Full Post »
The library is test-driving a database called Victorian Popular Culture. Although we can’t offer off-campus access, if you are on campus and would like to see what this database has to offer we would love to hear your thoughts! Connect to the database by clicking here. Please keep in mind while exploring that not all [...]
Read Full Post »
In our previous post, we noted that the library’s consultation request form was temporarily not working. Happily, the problem has been fixed and the online form can again be used to request your very own one-on-one consultation with a research librarian!
The form can be found at:
http://pages.slc.edu/~library/dbforms/refcon/consultform.php
You can use our consultation services to obtain help finding [...]
Read Full Post »
EBSCOhost has just unveiled a new free bibliographic database of environmental studies literature. The database includes citations from more than 200 scholarly and non-scholarly sources including backfiles of Bioscience, Journal of Environmental Planning and Management, and the Journal of Ecology, and key popular sources like Natural Life and Mother Earth News. Access this resource at [...]
Read Full Post »